Chronological List

1948Tales of the South PacificJames Michener
1949Guard of HonorJames Cozzens
1950The Way WestA.B. Guthrie, Jr.
1951The TownConrad Richter
1952The Caine MutinyHerman Wouk
1953The Old Man and the SeaErnest Hemingway
1954No award given 
1955A FableWilliam Faulkner
1956AndersonvilleMacKinlay Kantor
1957No award given 
1958A Death in the FamilyJames Agee
1959The Travels of Jaimie McPheetersRobert Lewis Taylor
1960Advise and ConsentAllen Drury
1961To Kill a MockingbirdHarper Lee
1962The Edge of SadnessEdwin O’Connor
1963The ReiversWilliam Faulkner
1964No award given 
1965The Keepers of the HouseShirley Ann Grau
1966The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne PorterKatherine Anne Porter
1967The FixerBernard Malamud
1968The Confessions of Nat TurnerWilliam Styron
1969House Made of DawnScott Momaday
1970The Collected Stories of Jean StaffordJean Stafford
1971No award given 
1972Angle of ReposeWallace Stegner
1973The Optimist’s DaughterEudora Welty
1974No award given 
1975The Killer AngelsMichael Shaara
1976Humboldt’s GiftSaul Bellow
1977No award given 
1978Elbow RoomJames Alan McPherson
1979The Stories of John CheeverJohn Cheever
1980The Executioner’s SongNorman Mailer
1981A Confederacy of DuncesJohn Kennedy Toole
1982Rabbit Is RichJohn Updike
1983The Color PurpleAlice Walker
1984IronweedWilliam Kennedy
1985Foreign AffairsAlison Lurie
1986Lonesome DoveLarry McMurty
1987A Summons to MemphisPeter Taylor
1988BelovedToni Morrison
1989Breathing LessonsAnne Tyler
1990The Mambo Kings Play Songs of LoveOscar Hijuelos
1991Rabbit At RestJohn Updike
1992A Thousand AcresJane Smiley
1993A Good Scent from a Strange MountainRobert Olen Butler
1994The Shipping NewsAnnie Proulx
1995The Stone DiariesCarol Shields
1996Independence DayRichard Ford
1997Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American DreamerSteven Milhauser
1998American PastoralPhilip Roth
1999The HoursMichael Cunningham
2000Interpreter of MaladiesJhumpa Lahiri
2001The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & ClayMichael Chabon
2002Empire FallsRichard Russo
2003MiddlesexJeffrey Eugenides
2004The Known WorldEdward P. Jones
2005GileadMarilynne Robinson
2006MarchGeraldine Brooks
2007The RoadCormac McCarthy
2008The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar WaoJunot Diaz
2009Olive KitteridgeElizabeth Strout
2010The TinkersPaul Harding
2011A Visit from the Goon SquadJennifer Egan
2012No award given 
2013The Orphan Master’s SonAdam Johnson
2014The GoldfinchDonna Tartt
2015All the Light We Cannot SeeAnthony Doerr
2016The SympathizerViet Thanh Nguyen
2017The Underground RailroadColson Whitehead
2018LessAndrew Sean Greer
2019The OverstoryRichard Powers
2020The Nickel BoysColson Whitehead
2021The Nightwatchman
2022The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode in the History of a Very Famous Family
Demon Copperhead
Herman Diaz
Barbara Kingslover

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s